Strawberries

I still know you are going to pick her over me.

Strawberries can be really sweet, but also in some batches, there’s some that are bitter and will hurt the edges of your tongue after eating it. But who cares, you still got some awesome fruit.

I don’t know what has gotten into my head for even thinking of you so often lately. I find myself replaying memories with you. How much you make me laugh, the unreasonable giggle, and just the joy for being able to hang, to spend an hour or two with you. It’s like my head remembers every conversation (that is 96.5 % about her,) every phone call either I or you make when one of us is having a typical it’s-like-the-world-hates-me-i-don’t-know-what-to-do problem (which is my personal favorite.) You’re the only thing constant in my life. Right now, it feels like I’m losing you, but you are not even mine.

Yesterday, you picked her. And it’s okay. Why did I even think of me, meaning more to you. So much for being an underdog. So much for losing you.

I’ll always be here. To be happy with you when she’s suddenly sweet, or when the day comes she’s willing to fight for you. And even when she breaks your heart.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

